Do NOT complete this purge process on a Client owned computer.  If you use a Client owned computer as your primary work computer, abide by the Client’s internal procedures for storage of and purging of documents from that computer. 


Before you purge, make certain you’ve moved all electronic documents you want to keep to SharePoint. 


To prepare for uploading your documents to our secured shared storage space, SharePoint, best practice is to create a folder on your desktop titled “PHI”. When you discover a confidential document that you want to keep, right click on the document icon, cut, and paste into this folder. Do NOT drag and drop the folder as this will just create a copy. This will save you when saving confidential documents you want to keep.


In no way can we predict all locations that may contain your confidential documents, please use this as a guide but proceed to think about the operations of your daily work process to identify confidential documents and look in ALL possible corresponding locations.


To successfully complete the purge of electronic files you will need to identify ALL folders that you may have saved confidential documents in the past. The purge itself will have several steps:

1.  

1. The first step to do this is to be sure your folder settings are set to Show hidden file, folders, and drives, so that you are able to view all folders that may contain confidential docs.  See below for specific instructions.

2.  Confirm that you’ve installed and configured Erase, our Secure Delete Utility.

3.  Go to your Desktop, then go through your normal directory structure (ie ‘My Documents’ or wherever else you may have stored work files), save what you need to Egnyte, and put all copies containing Confidential info or PHI into your Recycle Bin.

4.  Find the directories where MS Office applications (such as Word and Excel) may have created autorecover or backup copies of your documents, and move all copies to the Recycle Bin.  See below for specific instructions.

5.  Find your Temp and Download directories, and move at least all documents containing Confidential info or PHI in your Recycle Bin.  See below for specific instructions.

6.  Think – is there any place else you may have stored files containing Confidential Info or PHI?  If so, go purge from there.

7.  Once you’re convinced you’ve purged your User Account on this computer, go to your Recycle Bin, right click, and select Eraser>Erase to securely delete all the files from your Recycle Bin.

8.  Check and see if you have multiple User Accounts on your normal work computers; log in under each user account and repeat all the steps above to purge separately.

9.  Go to any other Computers you may have used for re|solution work; those of relatives or friends that you might have used to do some quick work while away from your normal work computers, and go to all the steps above to purge them.

10.  Go to any storage areas you may have used – these could include flash drives, external hard drives, public cloud storage areas (Google Docs, DropBox, Box.com, etc) where you might have made copies of files containing Confidential Info or PHI, and purge those.  If you’ve used utilities to make complete backups of your hard drive, make one after this purge process and use that for safekeeping, then securely delete any copies you suspect contain Confidential Info or PHI.

11.  Sign off on the self-attestation worksheet indicating you’ve completed a successful purge.